Health Tip: Avoiding Gluten

(HealthDay News) -- People with celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in most grains, especially wheat.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:

  • Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with iron and folate.

  • Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.

  • Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.

Related Articles

Learn More About Sharp
Sharp HealthCare is San Diego's health care leader with seven hospitals, two medical groups and a health plan. Learn more about our San Diego hospitals, choose a Sharp-affiliated San Diego doctor or browse our comprehensive medical services.

Health News is provided as a service to Sharp Web site users by HealthDay. Sharp HealthCare nor its employees, agents, or contractors, review, control, or take responsibility for the content of these articles. Please read the Terms of Use for more information.