Board and staff


The staff of the Sharp HealthCare Foundation help fund critical medical services, clinical research and health education at Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center, Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women & Newborns, Sharp McDonald Center, Sharp Memorial Hospital, Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital, Sharp Rehabilitation Services and Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers through administration of various giving opportunities and events.

Ben Moraga
Vice President of Annual Giving and Donor Development
Ben Moraga
  • Elizabeth Chan, Government Grants Specialist
  • Esmeralda Cuevas-Anderson, Database Management Consultant
  • Mallory Guglielmo, Administrative Assistant
  • Jennifer Guthrie, Chief Grants and Resources Officer
  • Jennifer Hale, Development Officer, Special Events
  • Chantel Handy, Development Officer, Sharp Metropolitan Medical Center
  • Brianna Lee, Senior Development Officer, Communications and Digital Strategy
  • Valerie Markarian, Senior Development Officer, Sharp Metropolitan Medical Center
  • Joe Martinez, Senior Research Analyst
  • Anne Monette Aquino, Data Specialist, Gift Records and Record Maintenance
  • Morgan Monreal, Administrative Assistant
  • Molly Mychaels, Development Officer, Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center
  • Christy Rheam, Development Associate, Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center
  • Lyndsey Richards, Senior Development Officer, Stewardship
  • Briana Ruff, Development Officer, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers
  • Jim Sardina, Manager, Annual Giving and Membership
  • Linda Spuck, Gift Planning Officer
  • Olga Valdez, Senior Data and Records Management Specialist
  • Tiffany Yu, Development Officer, Digital Content

Board of Directors

The Sharp HealthCare Foundation Board of Directors guides the mission of the Foundation by establishing policies and determining fundraising priorities that align with the goals of Sharp’s regional medical centers and specialty hospitals and their leadership. The Board of Directors’ guidance and expertise ensure that the Foundation effectively fulfills its mission of enhancing the current and future health care needs of San Diegans.

  • David Amaya
  • Lisa Arnold, Vice Chair
  • Anette Asher**
  • Dr. Charles Athill
  • Dr. Joe Bellezzo, Board Chair
  • Sara Bennett**
  • Jim Biddle
  • Gil Cabrera
  • Dr. Daniel Chang
  • Dr. Emily Cole
  • H. Michael Collins**
  • Lynn Congemi
  • Dr. Richard D. Coutts**
  • Robert deRose
  • Elizabeth Gildred**
  • Philip L. Gildred Jr.*, Founding Chairman
  • Kristan Gregg*
  • Jeffery Gross*
  • Holly Heaton
  • Kate Herring
  • Corinne Hollings
  • Chris Howard*, President and CEO of Sharp HealthCare
  • Dr. Siavash Jabbari
  • Dr. John Jahan
  • Dr. Moneer Jaibaji
  • Henry M. "Hank" Killmar**
  • Mike Labelle, Secretary
  • Yvonne W. Larsen**
  • Bill Littlejohn*, CEO of Sharp HealthCare Foundation
  • Aaron Malardino
  • Rob Marasco
  • Dr. Mike Martin
  • Betsy McClendon**
  • Eric Northbrook
  • Aasif Parekh*
  • Dr. Charles Redfern
  • Jim Reopelle**
  • Paulette Roberts, Treasurer
  • Dr. Kenneth J. Roth**
  • Dr. Shahed Samadi
  • Dr. Richard Santore**
  • Joanne Sellner
  • Reggie Smith
  • Naresh Soni
  • Sydney Stanley*
  • Dr. Jerome Stenehjem
  • Joseph J. Strazzeri, Esq.**
  • Dr. Diane Wintz
  • Jean Young

* Ex-officio member

** Honorary member

Choose the donation option that works for you.